[177] Moving on

I started this blog in January of last year to document my bold foray into the world of triathlon. I wanted to write about my experiences as I taught myself how to swim, reacquainted myself with the bike and otherwise immersed myself into a completely new adventure. It was an amazing and transformative journey that culminated in my Olympic-distance triathlon in September.

After that race was done, I took off my triathlon hat to focus on knocking out some running-specific goals. I saw it as an extension of my triathlon training because of the huge gains in fitness I had realized over the year. It would have been a waste to not put that fitness to use and try the marathon one more time. My goal morphed from simply running a race with a finish time under 4 hours to actually trying to qualify for Boston. And, while I didn’t get my BQ, I still had an amazing training cycle that completely reinvigorated my love for running, and I even came away with a 44-minute marathon PR.

So I’d say it’s been a pretty successful run. But every journey has an end, and it seems like a logical time for this space to come to a close. There are some significant life changes on the horizon that will force me to put any major running goals on the back burner for a while. And without running goals or regular training, well, there just isn’t that much to write about. Besides, my hands are going to be full with other things.

This blog’s main purpose was to document my training so I could look back on it later, both to study and reminisce. But it wasn’t just about me. On the same day I started the blog I joined Daily Mile and created a Twitter account. It’s been the social aspect of this venture that has meant the most to me – although I mostly train alone I really don’t know if I would have found the same fulfillment if I didn’t have anyone to share it with. Finding like-minded people in real life is a one-in-a-million proposition, but the Internet dissolves geographic boundaries and opens so many doors. I’ve learned so much from you over the past year and a half, and found so much inspiration in your stories.

So here’s a hearty thank-you to everyone who’s read, commented, Tweeted, Facebooked or emailed since Train to Tri began. I’ve really enjoyed our conversations. I’ll still be around – posting my workouts on Daily Mile, writing the occasional race report here, and keeping up with the blogs in my reader.

Run strong, friends!

Bike: 40/374.5 miles
Run: 57.3/577.5 miles
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [177] Moving on

  1. David H. says:

    Sorry to see you go. I hope you’ll reconsider.

  2. runwiki says:

    Very sad to see you go, but will look forward to following your training on DM

  3. I believe I get it. I know when I go back to 1st shift in summer of 2013 that my available time to train will be cut in half and I’ll probably have to stop being competitive and cut my race schedule in half. Change is a constant, glad to see you have the mental discipline to roll with it. Peace.

  4. jnkmiles.org says:

    Sad to see you go, but understand totally!! Glad you’ll still be around in other places where we can find you though 🙂

Leave a Reply

