[162] February

February was another solid month of training for me – even though it was a day or two short of a regular month I still racked up my highest-ever monthly running mileage. It was only 1.9 miles more than January, but that still counts!

Like I’ve said before, I’m not out to hit a particular mileage total each month. In fact, I wasn’t sure I’d get close to January’s total since this was a shorter month and my daughter was sick for a week, which caused me to skip an easy run or two (I still haven’t missed any key workouts).

In February I covered 183.9 running miles and have brought myself about 35 miles shy of 400 for the year. I should hit that mark by the middle of next week if things go well. My biking miles were a little less than January, with only 130, but I skipped Tuesday’s ride because I was busy preparing for my daughter’s birthday – which is a pretty special day since it only comes around once every four years.

It sounds odd to say this so early in the year, but February is likely to be my last big month of training for 2012. March’s mileage is going to fall way back as I taper for and then recover from the Shamrock Marathon. We’ll see how that recovery goes before making any predictions for April and May, and then the baby arrives in June. In a preemptive strike against faltering fitness, I’ve already signed up for the Richmond Half-Marathon later this year, so I have a fall race to (hopefully) motivate me to at least get in a few runs before November 10.

These first two months of the year have been a phenomenal experience, and there’s a part of me that would love to see what would happen to my fitness (and race times) if I kept up this kind of higher mileage indefinitely. But my life will be heading in a different direction for the short term – a direction that will bring its own joys and adventures. I’ve been sure to enjoy the ride while it lasted.

This entry was posted in biking, goals, progress, running. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to [162] February

  1. steena says:

    Your feburary has more miles than my January AND february combined. That’s pretty awesome. Sounds to me like you’re already missing the training. Training really grows on you, it becomes a close friend.

    • traintotri says:

      I’m sure your miles in March and April will be much higher than mine, since you race in May. You’re right about the training becoming a big part of your life – I can see why some people run marathons all the time.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Your daughter is a leap year baby? That’s awesome. There is no way I could have trained like I do now when the boys were babies, so I applaud you for getting one more marathon under your belt before the arrival of child #2. I’m sure it will be nice to let your body heal properly and enjoy more time with your family post-marathon. I am looking forward to doing just that.

    • traintotri says:

      Yep – she’s a Leap Day kid. She’s only 4 but I think she’s starting to get a sense of how unique her birthday is. It’s hard to get in the training when they’re young, particularly since I’m a daytime dad while my wife’s at work. I’m hoping to keep up a little base fitness and then be able to pick things up again when the next kid starts preschool in a couple years. I am glad to be getting in this last big race, though…

  3. David H. says:

    Great February! Just think, two weeks from today this will be over and you’ll still be celebrating. 😉

  4. Phenomenal training! Your motivation is inspirational! Rock on!

Leave a Reply

