[155] 11 things – it ends here

So I may be officially the last person on the Internet to be tagged in the “11 things” meme (thanks, Jenn!). I’ve never really participated in something like this but I figured it could be a fun exercise, at least the part where I get to talk about myself. However, since I am the last person on the Internet to be tagged, I will refrain from passing it along to anyone else. It ends here (or so we can hope).

Rules:

  1. Post these rules. (done)
  2. You must post 11 random things about yourself. (check two)
  3. Answer the questions set for you in their post. (Mission Accomplished)
  4. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
  5. Go to their blog and tell them you’ve tagged them.
  6. No stuff in the tagging section about “you are tagged if you are reading this”. You legitimately have to tag 11 people. 

11 random things about me:

  1. I really don’t like talking about myself (which is why this exercise feels a little weird to me). But I love talking about running/triathlon, which is why this blog exists.
  2. I’m a neat-freak. I can’t get my day started if there are clean dishes that need to be unloaded or other random things that need to be put away. My daughter and I tidy the house for fun.
  3. Professionally I am a graphic designer, so that annoying attention to detail that I mentioned above probably deserves a lot of the credit for my modest career success.
  4. I only eat M&Ms/Skittles/Reese’s Pieces in pairs of matching colors. If I get to the end of a pack and have an odd number left over I’ll just give them to someone else. 
  5. I played soccer through all of my childhood and wasn’t too bad at it. Despite being one of the faster guys on the field, I hated running and never ran recreationally until I was 28 years old. 
  6. I was in the first graduating class at both my elementary school and my high school (and later graduated from the second-oldest college in the U.S.). 
  7. This is not my only blog – I also have a blog about my daughter that I’ve written since the week she was born almost 4 years ago.  
  8. The majority of the clothes I own are some shade of blue. 
  9. My younger brother is training to become a Navy SEAL. So even though I train for triathlons and marathons, my family members first think of my brother when conversation turns to feats of physical prowess and athleticism. 
  10. I started a Twitter account along with this blog last year, but I quickly realized I wasnt going to be able to keep up with it (not having a smart phone doesn’t help). But somehow I keep getting new followers almost every day.
  11. I’m a creature of habit – I’ve packed essentially the same meal to take to work with me every day for the past several years. If it ain’t broke . . .

11 questions answered:

  • What is the last thing you Googled? The directions to Inflation Nation (an indoor play gym where I wanted to take my daughter)
  • Superbowl half-time show….loved it or hated it? I found it more tolerable than many recent halftime shows.
  • What was your last internet purchase? Two more pairs of Kinvaras from Running Warehouse – enough to get me through the marathon in March.
  • 1 piece or 2…tri-suit that is? Never raced in a real tri suit, but it seems like a 1-piece would be better.
  • What’s your current ringtone? “Ring, ring” (I have the boring standard ring)
  • If you could only choose 1… swim/bike/run…for the rest of your life, which would you choose? Run, definitely. It’s where I started and where I’ve returned after a year of triathlon.
  • What is the very 1st thing you do when crossing the finish line after the race formalities are done (chip removal, medal adornment, life saving water)? Keep walking, while looking out for friends or family.
  • Do you have a theme song..You know, that one that plays over and over in your head and either a) gets you pumped up b) keeps you going when things are tough or c) you sing it at the top of your lungs when hitting on all cylinders?? Not a specific song, but I have a generic beat that often runs in the background, kinda like the music that plays quietly in a stadium while the stage is being changed between acts.
  • Gimme 1 word that describes your running form… Work-in-progress (the hyphens make it the same as one word, right?)
  • How would you best sum up your training/racing philosophy? Go For It
  • It’s 12/31/2012 and you’re reflecting back on the year…what do you think? How did it all turn out? I wish I knew. I have some pretty big stuff coming up later this year that is not fitness related and I hope it all turns out well. As far as running, I’d love to have that registration confirmation for Boston 2013!
This entry was posted in other. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to [155] 11 things – it ends here

  1. jnkmiles.org says:

    Well aren’t you clever….ending the chain!! Smart man!! Look forward to watching you BQ and break all kinds of barriers this year!! 🙂

  2. steena says:

    People who can eat the same thing day after day amaze me. I can’t. My breakfast is different every day, my lunch, my dinner, my snacks..
    That is really strange about the skittles.. My odd habit is to take out my favorite 2 colors and throw the rest of the package away so I don’t eat it all.

  3. David H. says:

    Thank you for ending the madness. I really don’t like these chain things. In college I was always the person who ended forwards. That said, I have a post tomorrow covering a few questions since I got tagged 3 times. And it’s part of my “12 things” series.

Leave a Reply

