[153] A good month

I’m not looking to get into the habit of wrapping up every month of training this year, but January deserves a mention because of several milestones I hit during my training. A lot of these numbers might seem pedestrian to some athletes, but, for me, it’s been a pretty huge month as far as training volume:

– I ran my longest training run ever, and my third longest run if you count my two previous marathons, with a 21.8-mile training run last weekend.

– That run helped push the week’s total mileage to 63.1, the most miles I’ve ever run in a seven-day period.

– That week added to an already big month, which totaled 182 miles of running. That’s 33 more miles than December and easily the most miles I’ve ever run in a single month.

– The 166 miles I spent on the bike ended up being my third-highest month of cycling. While that number itself wasn’t terribly impressive (I rode 101 miles in a single weekend last summer), when added to the running miles it makes January my highest-mileage month of training – ever. It’s even 5 miles more than last April, when the #30daysofbiking streak pushed my bike mileage over 300.

There’s still a good chunk of training ahead as I zero in on the Shamrock Marathon in March, but it’s been a big mental boost to have really stepped things up in January and still feel great at the end. And even though February is a couple days shorter, I’m looking forward to another high-volume month.

This entry was posted in biking, progress, running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to [153] A good month

  1. David H. says:

    Great month and great start to the year!

    I think it’s important to reflect as much as possible – take the good and the bad and make them even better. Every time I don’t do that, I start to falter.

  2. jnkmiles.org says:

    A fantastic month of work!! I hate taking the time to do this, but it’s the only way I WILL do it…meaning look back at the TOTAL body of work and not just the day to day. It’s important…keep it up! 🙂

  3. Rebecca says:

    You are building confidence in your training by reflecting. Hopefully mid-Feb. to late March will feel this way for me. This post makes me want to get more serious about keeping up with my data.

Leave a Reply

