[137] November

November wasn’t much of a training month for me – it was a month of racing and resting. After putting in the hard work all year, this was the month in which I finally got to put that training to use. And then take some time off.

The first two weeks of the month were dedicated to tapering for my half-marathon, which I went on to PR quite handily. After that race I entered a two-week period of self-imposed running exile, with the dual aim of recovering from my race and enjoying some time away from a training plan before the start of my marathon training cycle this week. During those two weeks I ran three times – a short run a couple days after the half (bad idea), another short jaunt about a week later (feeling better) and then a race on Thanksgiving day, where I set a new PR at the 10k distance on a very challenging course.

So, not much training, but two shiny new PRs in less than two weeks.

I spent a decent amount of time on my bike during the time I wasn’t running, logging almost 100 miles in 30-minute increments here and there. And, despite four weeks of either tapering or recovering, I still ran almost 60 miles in November. Alas, I didn’t dip a single toe in the pool all month.

As for what’s next, I’ve made no secret about the fact that it’s all about the marathon. My 16-week training cycle started Monday and I’m very happy to be back in the swing of things. The race is far enough away that, for now, I can really focus on the training and not the specifics and logistics of the actual race. The training mileage ramps up quickly, with the first of my five scheduled 20-mile runs coming near the end of December. I’ve never run a 20-miler without it resulting in a significant injury (I’ve only run two in my life – one in each of my two previous marathon training cycles – and was forced to take many weeks off after both of those runs). I’m hoping my vastly improved fitness will help pull me through this time around. I’ll consider it a big success if I just make it through the entire training cycle!

Here are this distances I covered in November:

Swim: 0m 

Bike: 94.1 miles

Run: 57.5 miles

This entry was posted in biking, goals, progress, running, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [137] November

  1. David H. says:

    Great month. Have a solid first month of training!

Leave a Reply

