[093] June

June was a busy month with lots of notable moments in my triathlon career. I ran my first 5k race, swam in the open water for the first time, got my first flat tire (and then a second one), had my first bike wreck, raced my second triathlon, and completed my first swim of more than 3,000 meters.

Aside from those highlights, my training has been pretty steady. Despite some family schedule changes that have affected my workout routines, my volume has been up in both running and cycling, with my biggest running month of the year and my second-biggest cycling month (behind the 30-day challenge in April).

My swimming has been majorly impacted by the closure of my regular pool and then my backup pool. However, this hasn’t bothered me nearly as much as it would have, say, three months ago when I was really learning the basics of swimming. My stroke is pretty solid now, and, while I won’t be winning any swim contests, I feel confident covering longer distances comfortably. I am beginning to think that this is the most I can hope for from my swimming, at least this year, and I’m OK with that. I continue to focus on improving my stroke, but I feel like I’m approaching a swimming ceiling that won’t be breached without the outside help of a coach. For that reason I’m happy to just get in one swim a week – as long as I stay comfortable in the water and keep pushing to cover longer distances when I do swim, I’ll be OK.

In a way, I feel that my cycling has hit a plateau as well – I just can’t seem to hit that magic average of 20 mph for an entire ride. But this week is the end of my six-week weight regimen, and once it’s over I plan to start incorporating more drills into my cycling workouts. I hope that this helps to translate some of the strength I’ve gained in the weight room into stronger performances on the bike. The main thing I want to focus on is speed-interval work that I sprinkle throughout my longer rides.

My running continues to be pretty solid, and I’m in a good place to pick up the start of my half-marathon training plan next week. Two weeks ago I ran 9 miles at a 7:35 pace and a few days later ran 5 at 7:09, which is right where I want to be. I’m discounting the lackluster 5k from my most recent triathlon – at a 7:44 pace it was one of my slowest runs of any distance this year – for reasons I discussed in this post.  

With no races scheduled in July and August, now is the time for me to focus on my training plan and really attack my workouts. What I accomplish in the next two months will be reflected in my goal race for the year – the Olympic triathlon in September. My goals for this month include more brick workouts and more structured bike sessions that focus on building endurance and speed. I have to start training my body to handle longer and longer sessions. Another goal will be to regularly practice nonstop 1,500m swims and attempt to bring my time for that distance to 30 minutes or less.

Here are this distances I covered in June:

Swim: 7,645m (4.75 miles)

Bike: 161.6 miles

Run: 52.3 miles

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [093] June

  1. Ryan S. From DailyMile says:

    Wow man, I really like your goals and pace. I am currently only a cyclist and runner, but have a friend who is going to be in the Olympics who kindly offered to train me, since I want to do a triathlon. How bad is getting a flat in a bike race, and what is crashing like? Did you bike get beat up pretty bad?

    • traintotri says:

      Thanks, Ryan! I’ve never flatted during a race, thankfully, but I guess it depends on how competitive you are. With practice, you could change a tire in about 5 minutes, which might knock you out of contention if you’re aiming for the podium but wouldn’t be a huge deal otherwise. The wreck wasn’t so bad – the bike was fine and I was only scratched up a little. Sounds like you have a great coach lined up! Good luck!

  2. You rocked it in June, congratulations on both triathlons again. All the training really paid off, you seem confident enough to whip up a sprint triathlon with a days notice.
    I know what you mean about the swim plateau, I think I’m going through the same thing. The other day in the pool I realized that I was just mindlessly making laps, so I picked up my pace until I was breathing heavier. That’s usually a good start, shocking the body a bit.
    Also, I don’t know if you read it, but this month’s issue Triathlon Magazine has a lot of good swim drills/tips/advice/etc.

  3. David H. says:

    Great June Jeremy, and great first half of the year. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading your progress. You’ve been a great inspiration to me as I’ve gotten back on my feet, and I think I owe you some credit for getting me more goal oriented with my running. Here’s to a great rest of the summer with your training, and beyond!

Leave a Reply

