[073] April

April’s big story for me was the #30daysofbiking challenge, which I addressed in my last post. It seemed to make the month fly by, and I can’t believe May – the month of my very first triathlon – is here already.

April started out strong, with a 2-minute PR in the 10k distance on the second day of the month. As planned, I had focused on running in March to prepare for the race, and then shifted that focus to cycling for the April streak. As a result, my April running mileage was relatively small – since cycling was always the top priority on the workout agenda, sometimes running got left out altogether. But the runs I had were strong, high-quality sessions (including one 3.3-miler at a 7:35 pace, while pushing my daughter in the running stroller!).

My swimming in April was consistent – I continued to chip away at my 300m time as I improved my stroke and technique. But I had a bit of a rude awakening when I swam in the pool where my first race will be held. I know I was really tired during that swim, but I just felt “off.” I’m not really sure how to describe it otherwise. I just wasn’t in my swimming groove. Hopefully that will change on race day. My swimming total is a little smaller this month since the pool at my gym has been closed for the past week. I kind of needed a break anyway, and am looking forward to coming back strong and refreshed.

I’ve addressed my biking for the month in earlier posts, but I have one more number to note. I rode 108.1 miles in the last 8 days of the streak (two of those days had only 1 mile each), exceeding a goal I outlined here. Some cyclists ride that much in one or two rides, but it was a monumental achievement for me. Certainly the #30daysofbiking challenge pushed me far beyond what I would have done on my own. I actually worry about letting myself slack off in May after pushing through April, and I don’t want that to happen.

When you have a plan, or in my case a 30-day challenge, it’s so much easier to get in the workouts because they’re already there on the calendar waiting for you. When you don’t have a plan it’s harder to find focus and motivation. As I mentioned in my March wrap-up, I have been working on a written training plan for the rest of the year. It can be pretty complicated, from mapping out the general kinds of workouts that need to be done each week (endurance, speed, power, etc.) to actually designing the specific sessions.

I’ve made good progress on writing out my plan for the year, but it’s focused on the Olympic triathlon in September, and that training cycle begins the week after my sprint on May 22. So I am kind of coasting through May without a detailed plan of what I need to be doing. The good thing is that I feel pretty confident about my preparation for the sprint, or at least my ability to cover the distances at a decent speed. I just need to keep up my fitness for the next three weeks and be smart about tapering and nutrition in the days before the race.

I’m hesitant to post mileage goals for May, since I’ll be losing a week of training when I go on vacation and, as the month goes on, I don’t want to find myself chasing arbitrary mileage numbers and inadvertently compromise my fitness for the race as it approaches. But I’m looking forward to a great month, at the end of which I’ll (hopefully) be able to call myself a triathlete.

Here are this distances I covered in April:

Swim: 16,500m (10.3 miles)

Bike: 303.5 miles

Run: 27.9 miles

This entry was posted in biking, goals, progress, running, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [073] April

  1. steena says:

    I don’t have a plan, but I still plugging away at swimming, biking and running workouts. At first it felt weird not to be planning, but I started to enjoy doing the workouts on a whim based on weather or how I’m feeling. I think you not worrying about getting in a certain amount of numbers will be perfectly okay.
    That’s really exciting that it’s finally the month of your tri. Time is going to fly by and before you know it, it’ll be race day!

Leave a Reply

