[069] Finishing strong

The #30daysofbiking challenge ends seven days from today. So far I’ve racked up mileage that I never even considered as I contemplated the monthlong streak. In fact, my goal to hit 100 biking miles in April seems kind of quaint as I look back, almost 200 miles later.

In 22 days I’ve ridden 195.4 miles – almost three times as much as the next-closest monthly total (71 miles in March) and over 41 miles more than the first three months of the year combined.

But now’s not the time to coast through the rest of the month. It would be easy to look at what I’ve done, be proud and just get in some short daily rides to finish out the streak. Trust me – after 22 straight days of riding (with some running and swimming thrown in) my legs are in a constant state of soreness. Not “something’s wrong” sore, but “I need a day off” sore. Climbing stairs takes twice as long as it used to. But I still have more to give.

So here it is: I want to ride 100 miles in the last week of the challenge (8 days, including today). And since 100 miles would bring my monthly total to an aggravating 295.4, I want to top 300 miles for the month of April. I hope that posting this goal here will solidify my motivation to reach it.

And there’s a light at the end of the tunnel – the first week of May brings my birthday and a week of vacation (with no biking)!

This entry was posted in biking, goals. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [069] Finishing strong

  1. steena says:

    Wow, that’s really cool that the streak motivated you to go for even more. It alllllmost makes me want to go for it, almost.
    Good luck getting the last week in, you’ll get it!

  2. David H. says:

    You’ll get there Jeremy. I hope you’ll have some good weather the rest of this week too.

Leave a Reply

