[066] Caught on tape

Swim: 4,000 m/64,000 m

Bike: 15.9/270.2 miles

Run: 0/100.7 miles

I ran into my dad at the gym yesterday, and he agreed to take some video of my swim session while he was there. He captured a few of my warm-up laps so I could review them, like a football coach poring over game tape to find weaknesses.

I was surprised a little by what I saw. Apparently I kick pretty regularly, which I was not aware of. I’m not trying to kick or even thinking about kicking when I swim, but it seems to be happening anyway. I guess it’s OK, but I worry about using too much leg energy during the swim on race day – I’m going to need all the strength and stamina I can muster for the bike and run segments. If I’m going to kick, which apparently I am, then I need to work on my form a little. In today’s swim I worked in some kicking drills that I found online and in the Total Immersion book.

Otherwise I thought I looked OK. There are some hand/arm placement tweaks I can work on, as well as refining my body rotation while breathing, but overall I am pleased with what I saw (I can’t upload the video to WordPress without an upgrade, or I would definitely share it).

In any case, I’m swimming well enough to continue my improvement in the 300-meter distance (the length of the swim in my first triathlon in about five weeks). Yesterday I swam it in 4:26, which was 3 seconds faster than my previous best, and today I shaved another 5 seconds for a new PB of 4:21.

– The specs at the top of this post include the Monday (6.9 miles) and Tuesday (9 miles) installments of #30daysofbiking. I rode a lot of these in the aero position and for some reason felt a lot more confident there than before.

– I’m not sure how I overlooked this in my last post, but Sunday’s ride in the country put me over 100 miles for the month, with 20 days left to go.

This entry was posted in biking, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [066] Caught on tape

  1. steena says:

    How cool that you got to see it on tape! I’ve been curious about this for myself. You know, YOUTUBE is free 🙂
    Great speed increases too. Your training is really paying off!

Leave a Reply

