[064] Ah, Fridays

Swim: 2,000 m/60,000 m

Bike: 29/218.9 miles

Run: 3.8/100.7 miles

I love my Friday morning workouts. Because of my life schedule, I don’t get much exercise (other than keeping up with a 3-year-old kid) between the end of my Tuesday morning workout and Friday morning. I count Wednesday as a rest day, but by Thursday I’m pretty hungry to get back out there. I’ve been going to the gym for a swim after work on Thursday nights, but by then I am usually so tired that the workout is mediocre at best.

This week’s Thursday-night swim was OK – I swam my obligatory 300m segment in 4:33 – but I never felt like I completely warmed up. My stroke just didn’t seem smooth and I got out-of-breath more easily. It also felt like I was lower in the water, so when I turned to breathe I wasn’t getting enough air. In fact, I had my very first full inhalation of pool water of the season. For someone who didn’t know how to swim a couple months ago, it seems odd that this would happen after I finally started swimming well, but it happened. I had to stop in the middle of the pool and recover for a minute. Thankfully there was no one else there or they might have called the paramedics! I think it just boiled down to swimming while tired.

But I got a good night of sleep and set out for my Friday morning workout – a long ride at West Creek. This was my first long ride of the #30daysofbiking challenge, and after a measly 3 miles combined on Wednesday and Thursday (which I completed by riding laps around my circular driveway) I was ready to get out on the road and hammer it.

The weather was great and I felt strong, and I completed the 26-mile ride at an average pace of 18.4 mph. Here’s some perspective – this was my fastest average pace, ever. I haven’t averaged that pace on any of my far shorter rides this year. It’s not like I went out in the neighborhood and rode that fast for 3 miles – I kept it up for 26! Also, this was my second-longest ride ever, and was the exact distance of my Olympic race in September.

I was pretty pleased with this ride, although afterward I struggled with the oppressive thought of immediately running a 10k after this ride on triathlon day. The fresh memory of last weekend’s rewarding but exhausting 10k made the potential discomfort of triathlon day all the more realistic. 

– Some quick notes about the #30daysofbiking challenge: I noted above that I got in some very short miles this week, but I’ve been at it every day and have amassed a total of 64.8 biking miles in the first 8 days of the month. For perspective, my highest monthly total so far has been 71.1 miles in March. Also, my goal was to reach 100 miles this month. Looks like I’m well on my way to exceeding that figure – maybe I should shoot for 200?

– The specs at the top of this post also include an easy run in the neighborhood this morning with my wife and daughter. It was my first run after last weekend’s 10k, and everything felt great. Later this afternoon I’ll get in my daily ride.

This entry was posted in biking, progress, running, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [064] Ah, Fridays

  1. steena says:

    “The fresh memory of last weekend’s rewarding but exhausting 10k made the potential discomfort of triathlon day all the more realistic.” <– This, right here, yikes, made me think of how this whole triathlon thing is a challenge. I haven't yet personally experienced the bike then run workout, but from what you've said here, it sounds very challenging.

    • traintotri says:

      I think it’s more of a mental hurdle than a physical one. It just seems like one workout should be enough, but then you have to do another one. I would definitely try to get some bricks worked into your routine – it’s a totally different feeling to run after biking.

Leave a Reply

