[060] Should I streak?

I’ll admit it – I’ve never streaked before. (In the consecutive-days-of-exercise sense, not the running-around-naked sense. I did go to college, after all!)

In the past couple weeks I’ve been hearing more and more about an online community challenge that involves a streak – riding your bike every day in April. The #30daysofbiking challenge has only one goal – to get people on their bikes and having fun. There is no set minimum (or maximum) when it comes to determining the length of a sanctioned ride – one guy said he could only fit in a short ride in the hallway of his building on some days. It’s just 30 straight days of biking in any form.

I am inclined to participate in this challenge for a few reasons. First, my focus in March has been on running in anticipation of the Monument Avenue 10k this weekend. Once that’s out of the way I plan to shift my focus to pure triathlon training, which means many more hours on the bike. (I’ve read that the majority of your training should be on the bike since that segment takes up the most time during an actual race.) This challenge could be the perfect incentive to get me on the bike – every day.

Second, it could be really fun to take on this challenge as part of a virtual community of bikers from all over the world. This triathlon experience is so new to me, and one aspect that has impressed me has been the feeling of community. With the exception of the most elite racers, triathletes are only competing against themselves, and there seems to be a certain bonding among people who take on the challenges of this sport. The streak, while not limited to triathletes, could become just another aspect of my overall triathlon experience. At the end of the season I could look back to more varied successes than just finishing a triathlon – it would make for a more well-rounded and memorable year. 

Third, it would be cool to finally complete a streak. In more than six years of active running and exercise, I’ve never consciously attempted a streak. I guess you could say I ran every Sunday for six months leading up to my marathons, but I consider a streak to be something that isn’t necessarily part of a training plan, and usually it’s something that happens every day, not every week.

I can only see one major issue with this challenge, and it’s why I’m hesitant to take it on. Because of my family’s schedule, I am with my 3-year-old daughter several days a week from the moment I wake up to the moment I leave for work in the afternoon, and then I don’t get home until after midnight (my odd schedule is one of the many joys of journalism). Going for a ride during the day would mean leaving her unattended, which obviously won’t work. This is the case two days every week – she’s in preschool for a couple hours on the other days.

Because of the easy-going nature of the challenge, any time on the bike counts toward the day’s goal. So, conceivably, I could take a couple laps around our circular driveway while my daughter plays in the yard and call it a success.

I’m inclined to do this, and putting it here will hold me accountable.

This entry was posted in biking, goals. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [060] Should I streak?

  1. David H. says:

    I did a running streak last April and got to more than 100 miles in the month with not much to actually train for — it turned out that I had some of the highest quality runs in that 30-day span. That month set the tone for the rest of the year. I highly recommend it. You’ll get a ton of support on DailyMile too. When you need a rest day or two, all you’ll need to do is ride for a mile or two to keep the streak alive. I say go for it — you’ll learn a lot about yourself in the process.

    • traintotri says:

      I remembered your streak from last year and that you were pleased with the results. I imagine the benefits will be both immediate and long-lasting. I signed up for the challenge today, and am looking forward to kicking it off tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

