[049] Tough choices

Swim: 1,500 m/36,900 m

Bike: 0/102.2 miles

Run: 3.4/57.1 miles

So much to do, so little time. It can often be hard to decide what workouts to fit into a limited time, particularly when you’re not really using a formal triathlon-training plan to guide your decision-making.

With my recent swimming success, I’m excited to spend more time in the pool to practice my new skills. With a new tri bike and pleasant weather, I can’t wait to get out on the roads. And with a stated goal of focusing on running this month, I feel a need to get in those miles as well. Add in my normal weight-training sessions and my weekly workout time starts getting stretched beyond its limit.

As much as I would have loved to ride yesterday, I opted instead for a few running miles, which I got in after about 45 minutes in the weight room and a 1,500-meter swim. The swim was wonderful – maybe not as game-changing as the previous session, but still a world of difference over previous efforts.

Again I started with drill sets, and then went right into my freestyle workout. I again attempted 300 uninterrupted meters during the session, and completed the distance in 5:29. I finished the entire 1,500-meter workout in about 34 minutes. Now that swimming is suddenly much easier, the workouts are becoming a little quicker. I would have liked to stay longer, but the run was calling.

After the first two workouts of the morning, my time was running short and I still wanted to drop by the library to pick up a book that was on hold for me. So I ran to the library and back – 3.4 miles total at a 7:27 pace.

I always find it interesting when my athletic life intersects with the real world. One minute I’m steadily pushing my way up a hill, and the next minute I’m surrounded by normal people browsing for books. I speak to the librarian with a slight breathlessness that lingers from my exertion of just a few minutes earlier. Then I drop the book into my backpack, step out onto the sidewalk and take off toward my neighborhood. I can’t help but wonder if people in the real world are impressed by someone who literally runs their errands, or if they are just annoyed at the smelly, sweaty guy in line in front of them – someone who suddenly makes plausible the prospect of traveling to the local library by foot.

In any case, I got in a few good hours of exercise that I’m proud of. And the book I picked up? “Long Distance: Testing the Limits of Body and Spirit in a Year of Living Strenuously”.

This entry was posted in running, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [049] Tough choices

  1. Dad says:

    “Running” errands just might become more plausible as gas moves closer to the $8 per gallon mark 😉

Leave a Reply

