[042] Practicing the basics

Swim: 1,500 m/32,700 m

Bike: 0/83 miles

Run: 0/41.8 miles

I had another very positive swim yesterday, using tips learned from the Total Immersion book. I’m not that far into the book yet, so I haven’t even gotten to the drills and skill-building workouts. But I’ve been able to put into practice some of the basic foundations the author addresses in the first few chapters.

Using the upgraded swim technique, I found myself much more relaxed and not even using my legs very much at all. This is a big change, because I often find myself kicking strongly as I swim as sort of an instinctual reflex to keep the back part of my body horizontal instead of sinking down into the pool. With the new form tweaks, which focus on reducing drag, I am really just gliding through the water. This is key because in a triathlon I need my legs to be as fresh as possible when I head out of the swim and into the bike and run segments.

The breathing was a little better, perhaps as a result of the overall more relaxed approach to the swim. I am really trying to focus on gliding through the water, as opposed to forcing my way through it using lots of muscle energy. I’ve noticed a distinct improvement even in these first couple sessions since I’ve started the book.

This entry was posted in swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [042] Practicing the basics

  1. I’m the same way, I have to remind myself to kick every once in a while thanks to that book.
    Another tip that isn’t addressed in Total Immersion, but a swim instructor at my gym had me do is hold a tennis ball under my chin while I swam a couple yards. This will give you an idea of how far your head really needs to be in the water. It feels foreign, and there’s no peripheral vision which is scary for a tri, but you need to spot for others while coming up for breath.. This is all what a swim instructor told me anyway, don’t hold me to it.

Leave a Reply

