[030] Swimming sick

Swim: 2,000 m/19,200 m

Bike: 0/24.16 miles

Run: 0/30.6 miles

As I mentioned last week, my daughter was sick and I hadn’t been getting much sleep. My wife also has been sick, and now it’s my turn. The main symptom I’ve been dealing with for the past few days is extreme fatigue – it’s been hard to make myself do anything, particularly work out. I haven’t run, biked or hit the weight room in a week and a half.

Fortunately, I have discovered that I can still swim. While I would question the training value of taking a slow run or a leisurely bike ride (which would necessarily be slow given my utter lack of energy), I don’t feel bad at all about taking it easy in the pool. Because, even though I’m not killing it, I’m still working on my skills and getting in lots of repetition. And I actually feel good while I’m doing it, even though I’m exhausted afterward. So I’ve gotten in several good swims over the past five days, including today’s 2,000-meter workout – my longest yet.

Usually on Tough Tuesdays I fit in as much weight or pool work as I can in the hour before my spin session starts.  This week I knew that I wasn’t going to have the energy for a vigorous spin session, or even heavy weights, so I just spent the time in the pool. And, in about 56 minutes I had covered 2,000 meters. I wasn’t working at a particularly fast pace – just steady laps of freestyle.

Following up on my last post, I didn’t allow any breaks after a single lap. I want to keep working my way up to more consecutive laps of freestyle without breaks. Today I rested briefly after every two or three laps.

While being sick isn’t fun, I kind of welcome the respite from hard training. Hopefully the variety of tweaks and general soreness that I’ve been nursing will be all healed up by the time I’m ready to return to full-bore workouts, which I hope will be this weekend.

This entry was posted in swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

