[027] Small victories

Swim: 1,000 m/14,200 m

Bike: 0/24.16 miles

Run: 0/30.6 miles

It’s been a rough week, with a sick preschooler at home and a work schedule with later-than-normal hours – two factors that conspired to leave me with not much sleep. Because of the aforementioned sick kid, my workouts have been limited to one session of push-ups/sit-ups at home (although it was a good one) in the past three days – no preschool for her means no gym for me.  

With the way things have been, I don’t think you could find fault with me for coming home after work tonight and going straight to bed instead of heading to the gym for my normal Thursday night swim workout. Especially after last Thursday night’s debacle of a swim session, which I am blaming mostly on fatigue. 

But as I left work, I thought to myself – This is one of those moments that will speak to my dedication. Am I really in training now, or am I a fair-weather athlete? I can always sleep later (or at least that’s what I’ve been telling myself for three years now, since my daughter was born). I need to take advantage of this opportunity to work out because I don’t know when the next one will come along.

When it came time to decide, I realized that the decision had been made long ago. After all, I had brought my gym bag to work with me, “just in case.” I went to the gym, cranked out 1,000 m of smooth freestyle mixed with a little breaststroke, and felt great. It was one of the better swims I’ve had – I even experimented with faster speeds using freestyle (and actually lapped the person in the next lane a couple times!).

I’m glad I went. And I’m glad that, just before leaving work tonight, I didn’t grab one of the delicious-looking doughnut holes laying on a table in the common area. No matter how tired I might be tomorrow, I can be happy with my two little victories tonight.

This entry was posted in swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [027] Small victories

  1. Dad says:

    Persevere…and get a swim coach.

  2. David H. says:

    I find that the workouts you think you’re not going to do or don’t want to do or have any negative thought beforehand turn out to be pretty good. With my current running schedule of the evenings, I battle with myself every night on whether to run or not. Every time I get out there though, I feel good.

  3. Amy says:

    Yay!!! You’re doing GREAT!

  4. I love passing the person in the lane next to me! I don’t know why, but it just makes you feel like you’re doing something right!

Leave a Reply

