[019] Bad timing, good swim

Swim: 800 m/10,700 m

Bike: 0/14.35 miles

Run: 0/25.1 miles

I encountered an interesting phenomenon at the gym today – the pool was full. That’s not a condition that has a parallel in running or biking – usually the roads and trails upon which I bike or run have plenty of room for one more. But the pool is much smaller than the outdoors, and when three people are occupying the relatively small pool at the gym, there’s no place for a fourth. (I wondered about the etiquette of sharing one of the lanes, which are wide enough for two swimmers, but none of the other swimmers intimated that they would welcome a companion.)

I only had to wait less than 10 minutes for a lane to open, and when it did I knocked out some of the most comfortable freestyle laps to date. Again making tweaks to my form as a result of tips shared by an online friend, the stroke felt even easier and more natural. Instead of breathing every second stroke as I had been doing, I quickened my pace just a little and extended the breathing to every fourth stroke. I wondered if a breath every third stroke would be optimal, but that would have me breathing on a different side each time.

There’s obviously still a long way to go. I still find myself somewhat breathless at the end of each lap, so I still need to figure out how to modulate my breathing even more. But with the refined stroke technique I found myself needing much less of a break before starting the next lap.

With the tweaks I made today, everything felt smoother – my body rotation, the path  and position of my arms, and even my kicking. I didn’t feel like I was stretching my head too far out of the water to grab a breath, as was the case before today. I wanted to stay at the pool longer, but too much of my limited time was spent waiting for a lane. I’m looking forward to getting back to the pool to refine things even more.

This entry was posted in swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [019] Bad timing, good swim

  1. That happened to me last weekend too! I got there as soon as the pool opened & sure enough, all 6 lanes were being used. I’m reading every post since you started this, and it’s really neat to see how your breathing is progressing.

Leave a Reply

