[015] Variety

Swim: 1,500 m/7,300 m

Bike: 0/6.35 miles

Run: 0/25.1 miles

This morning I completed my first spin session at my gym. It followed 1,500 meters in the pool the day before, and a tough 6.4-mile run the day before that. Three days, three starkly different workouts. This is what I am growing to love about triathlon training.

When you’re training to run, your days look like this: run, run, run, rest, run, run. You can always sprinkle in a little cross-training, and your performance will vary between easy days and hard days, but your main focus will always be running.

With my new regimen, I can go all out on my run, and then go all out on the swim the next day because I am using completely different muscle groups. I am more inclined to get the most out of each workout and push as hard as I can because it might be several days before I can get back to that particular discipline. I want to make each run (or swim, or ride) count, to squeeze every bit of benefit out of each session.

Today’s spin session was a new experience for me. It’s the kind of workout that you can tailor to your own needs. The instructor tells you when to adjust the resistance, but you’re in control of your pace and the level of resistance. When she says to turn it up one level, I turn it up one and a half. When she says to increase the resistance “if you want,” I do it. When she says to slow our pace for a tough section, I aim to hold my original pace even with the higher resistance. Like I said above – I want to get the most out of every workout. I don’t like having extra energy when I’m done.

The one bad aspect of spinning is that it doesn’t allow me to keep track of my mileage, as I could if I were riding my bike. So the stagnant number beside “bike” at the top of each blog entry continues to mock me, even though I’m getting in some very real bike-like workouts.

This entry was posted in biking, running, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [015] Variety

  1. Dad says:

    Benefits of riding a stationary bike:
    Easy to use
    Builds desire to ride real bike as fitness, technique improve
    Convenient
    Can much more easily and quickly increase and decrease resistance, speed
    Ideal in bad weather, easier to work out in any temperature, condition
    A good oxygen boost
    Low injury risk to knees and ankles, a gain without some of the pain
    Easy to develop a rhythmic pace for better endurance
    Helps develop leg strength

Leave a Reply

