[012] Going the distance

Swim: 1,500 m/4,275 m

Bike: 0/6.35 miles

Run: 0/18.7 miles

Distances sometimes become less intimidating once they’ve been covered. When training for a distance race, however, covering a certain length only leaves you knowing that you’ll need to do it again on race day, and faster.

Tonight I swam 1,500 meters for the first time. Ever. That’s the distance of the swim leg of the Olympic-distance triathlon I’m working toward. Tonight’s swim, completed at a nonstop but somewhat leisurely pace, took about 40 minutes. In fact, I found myself picking up the pace near the end, realizing I was going to complete 60 laps with plenty of energy to spare.

The main difference between tonight’s swim and the official version is the stroke I employed – I used breast stroke this time. That stroke has become very familiar and comfortable even in the few sessions since I started swimming about two weeks ago. I didn’t have to rest tonight – the only pause was the 2-3 seconds it took to turn around at the end of each lap.

The race stroke will come in time as I grow more comfortable in the water and, of course, learn how to perform it. In the coming weeks I plan to consult a swim coach, but part of me wants to at least have some foundation before I contact her.

Still, a mental hurdle has been overcome today. I know I can cover the distance, even if it means crawling along using a slow and inefficient stroke. And it’s only the second week of training!

Also today: 200 push-ups/200 sit-ups

This entry was posted in swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [012] Going the distance

  1. Dad says:

    Whoa, confidence is growing already. I liiiiiike! Get with the swim coach ASAP! Don’t get too comfortable with the “wrong” stroke and develop bad habits. Learn the new and “correct” now.

Leave a Reply

