[010] Rest day?

Swim: 0 m/2,775 m

Bike: 0/6.35 miles

Run: 0/18.7 miles

I can’t say I’m a fan of rest days, especially forced ones. The way my schedule works, between spending days with my 2-year-old daughter and working in the evenings, it can be difficult to find time to squeeze in a capital-W workout – time at the gym or on the street. I always hit the gym while she’s at preschool two days a week, but today schools were closed on account of the “snow” (even though the streets in my neighborhood were clear).

I certainly can’t complain – I treasure the time I get to spend with my daughter – but there’s always a little twinge of remorse when I have to miss a workout session. Particularly now, since I am training for a triathlon, workouts are even more important since I must split my workout time between three disciplines.

So, while I can’t run, bike, or swim every day, there is something I can do to further my fitness – core workouts. These are the workouts I can do at home, whenever I get a few free moments, and with little or no equipment. For instance, today I knocked out 250 push-ups and 200 sit-ups over the course of about 30 minutes. There are any number of core workouts I can do, and there’s no excuse to not do them. I may not have control over the weather or other people’s schedules, but I can find a way to get in some type of exercise each day.

This entry was posted in goals. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [010] Rest day?

  1. Dad says:

    Failure will never overtake you your determination to succeed is strong enough. When you don’t find a way, make a way. No limits.

Leave a Reply

