[074] Vacation

Swim: 0 m/70,500 m

Bike: 0/457.6 miles

Run: 7/124.6 miles

This weekend I returned from a much-needed vacation – it was my first significant time off from work in about five months and it followed a pretty intense month of triathlon training that included biking every day. I only got in two real workouts while we were gone – a short trail run and then a 5-mile tour of downtown Winston-Salem, N.C. – but was otherwise very active all week, with lots of walking and sightseeing with my wife and daughter.

Both of the runs were amazing in their own way. The trail run was pretty short but intense as I started at a pretty fast pace up the side of a mountain. The trail later evened out and followed a small river that flowed alongside our campsite. We were camping pretty deep in the mountains and I had some pretty vivid thoughts about what might happen if I turned one of the many switchbacks to find an angry bear standing there, but thankfully the wildlife stayed out of my way.

It's hard to beat running on a nice trail.

For my second run, I got out pretty early on Saturday morning to make a loop around downtown Winston-Salem and then through Old Salem. The streets downtown were very quiet but there just happened to be a huge 5k (with over 11,000 participants) around Old Salem that morning. I considered entering when I heard about it, but the registration was already closed. So I’ve still never run a 5k!

Quiet streets at 7:45 on a Saturday morning.

It’s hard to think of a better way to get to know a new town than to take an early morning run through its streets. I found plenty of interesting places, cool buildings and even a landmark barbecue restaurant that I returned to later with my family. It’s akin to a trail run – you’re immersed in the environment and more attuned to your surroundings. I didn’t time either of my vacation runs – it was more about just getting out and enjoying the moment. I even stopped for a few pictures (taken with my iPod, so excuse the quality).

Now that I’m back home I’m finding it hard to refocus on triathlon training. We got home Saturday and I didn’t exercise at all on Sunday. I just told myself that I’ll start again in earnest on Monday. I know that once the vacation fog has lifted and I get back into the routine I’ll regain my excitement about training, but I just needed one last day to recharge the batteries.

This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [074] Vacation

  1. steena says:

    Welcome back from vacation! That’s great you got a trail run in during your vacation. That’s too bad the 5k was closed, but at least you got to go do your own thing, it sounds adventurous.

  2. David H. says:

    Looks like a great trail. You’ve got to do a 5k sometime. Go all out, burn your chest. You’d love it, and you’d kill it.

Leave a Reply

